Twitter logo

Welcome to the @Penguinusa Twitter Book Club.

Every month we'll be inviting our @PenguinUSA Twitter followers to join us in reading and discussing a book selected by the staff here at Penguin. We'll be checking in on Twitter periodically throughout the month, letting followers know where we are in the book, and opening the forum for discussion (but please, no spoilers!). We invite users to ask questions about the book as they read, and to look out for tweets about when we'll be dedicating time for "mini book club meetings" during the course of the month.

Be sure you use #readpenguin when you tweet.

We'll hope you'll join us as we read this month's pick.

If you have a suggestion for a Penguin title you'd like picked for a future book club, send us a DM at @PenguinUSA.

A Dangerous Fiction cover

Paperback | $15.00 | Read more »

eBook | $9.99

Use #readpenguin for all related tweets.
Follow Putnam on Twitter

Join @PenguinUSA on Twitter on this date:

  • Tuesday, September 9th
  • 3 – 4 PM EST
  • Tuesday, September 23th
  • 3 – 4 PM EST

Like us on Facebook

Like us on Facebook »


A Dangerous Fiction

Barbara Rogan

Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City's literati. At thirty-five, she's the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.

Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan's wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read—and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.

Start Reading »

View a Reading Guide »

“Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end.”

NPR

“A terrific read! A thriller with a psychological heart of mystery, a double-ended love story, and a fascinating look at the world of high-stakes publishing.”

Diana Gabaldon, New York Times bestselling author of Outlander and An Echo in the Bone

“Clearly, the most dangerous fictions are the ones we tell ourselves.”

J. A. Jance, New York Times bestselling author of Judgment Call and Edge of Evil

“Required reading: A glamorous New York literary agent has a lot to fear—and not just from reading bad novels. In Rogan's thriller, uber-agent Jo Donovan finds members of her uptown inner circle brutally murdered shortly after she rejects a manuscript. But things may get worse: She is certain the detective sent by the NYPD is not New York's finest. In fact, he's her ex-boyfriend.”

New York Post