Tag: reviews

Publishing powerhouse Nora Roberts’ newest novel The Liar (G.P Putnam’s Sons) is the #1 book in the country according to The New York Times and USA Today, debuting at the top of both bestseller lists.  The Liar is the 214th novel from “America’s favorite writer” (The New Yorker).  Roberts was recently featured in The New York Times Book Review’s “By the Book” column surrounding the 40th book in her In Death series, which she’s been writing for 20 years under the pseudonym J.D. Robb.
The Husband's Secret by Liane Moriarty settles into its 4th week at #1 on The New York Times paperback trade fiction bestseller list this week, with a combined total of five weeks on the paperback list.  The book was a megahit in Putnam hardcover and with book clubs across the country embracing The Husband's Secret, the Berkley paperback is well on its way to similar great success.
Harlan Coben’s The Stranger debuts at #1 on the USA Today Bestseller list and #1 on the New York Times eBook Bestseller list this week following a spectacular publicity launch. Coben appeared on NBC-TV’s The Today Show, Good Day New York, and Books & Burgers with ABC’s George Stephanopoulos. The Stranger is being hailed as his most shocking novel yet, and the book received coverage in The Associated Press, USA Today, New York Daily NewsBoston Globe, and The Houston Chronicle. To top it off, Coben discovered he has some new celebrity fans when the popular band Imagine Dragons tweeted they were reading a Harlan Coben novel on their flight to New York for The Howard Stern Show.   
The Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins continues to write not only a remarkable Riverhead bestseller story but an historic one for the entire publishing industry.  Still selling at an unprecedented rate and continuing to blow up the Twittersphere with an endless stream of raves,  the book is rolling  atop The New York Times bestseller lists for a 11th straight week. The Riverhead book is #1 on the hardcover fiction and combined print & eBook fiction lists for the week of April 12th.
Millions mourned when ESPN Sports Center anchor Stuart Scott lost his unrelenting fight against cancer and passed away on January 4, 2015.  Blue Rider Press President and Publisher David Rosenthal told The New York Times, “If he had gone into remission, it would have been a wonderful miracle.”  Sadly, that miracle did not happen but readers everywhere are comforted and gaining inspiration from Scott’s memoir, written with Larry Platt, Every Day I Fight, which went on sale from Blue Rider Press on Tuesday. The book has been selling at a hot pace, propelled by a phenomenal national media campaign, including prominent print pieces in The New York Times, The Washington Post and USA Today, which noted, “Scott’s candor and combative energy are what drives his story…Being a conscientious journalist, Scott diligently, unsparingly reports on what was going on inside his head and in his personal life through treatment, remission and the return of the disease. In recounting every mood swing, every surge of hope and dread, he is imparting a lesson to his daughters, Taelor and Sydni — and to us: ‘I want them to take every note of every moment and to make them count.’” National TV has included segments on ABC’s Good Morning America and ESPN’s Sports Center as well as a first serial except on ESPN.com, and spots on ESPN Radio and The Tom Joyner Show. Many of Stuart’s friends have also offered personal praise, including basketball legend Michael Jordan: “I’ve known Stuart Scott since we were undergrads at UNC and I watched him become a groundbreaking sportscaster. But Every Day I Fight shows his greatest accomplishment: as a dad, who fights for his daughters every day. As a journalist, a dad and a cancer fighter, there’s no quit in Stuart.”
On Tuesday, Dutton published The Valley by John Renehan, the highly-praised debut that has caught the support of booksellers around the country and National Book Award winner Phil Klay, who called it “both a gripping, tightly-wound mystery as well as a sharply observed look at the complex internal politics of the U.S. Army.” The Valley launched to a great publicity line-up, including interviews with the Huffington Post (read it here) and Newsmax’s The Steve Malzberg Show, an excerpt on the Storyville app, a 20-city radio tour, and reviews in Military Times, Foreign Policy, The Providence Journal, andLos Angeles Review of Books. Renehan also participated in the “Indies Introduce” panel at Wi10, and upcoming events include a reading at KGB Bar’s “Behind the Book” series and a panel with Phil Klay at the Oxford Conference for the Book.  
Raves have been pouring in for debut novelist Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember In The Ashes, which goes on sale from Razorbill on April 28. The book is already hitting “most-anticipated” lists across the Internet and is #2 on the Spring 2015 Indie Next list.  Fellow Penguin Young Readers author Marie Lu was so engrossed in an advance copy of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES that she missed her connecting flight. Margaret Stohl, author of Beautiful Creatures, raves that it’s “a heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building [she’s] read all year.” In a starred review, Publishers Weekly calls EMBER, “A deft, polished debut … brimming with political intrigue.” And MTV News says, “A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny . . .  AN EMBER IN THE ASHES is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” Watch a Video from the Author:
This week Viking Children’s Books released Dove Arising, the debut young adult science fiction novel from 20-year-old author Karen Bao.  Bustle.com praised, “Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction,” and also featured an essay from Bao about what it was like to write her novel as a high school student.  School Library Journal predicted, “Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut.” Hypable.com featured an interview with Bao, paired with the reveal of one of four propaganda-style videos created for the campaign. The remaining three were revealed by participants in the extensive pre-pub blog tour that continues. The propaganda videos, along with quote and slogan images, are part of a major social media campaign driving readers to a digital sampler of Dove Arising. National advertising for these assets, as well as the book, includes Entertainment Weekly, CWTV.com, Goodreads, Facebook, and YouTube. Bao met booksellers and librarians in New York, Cincinnati, Chicago, Minneapolis, and Los Angeles on her pre-pub dinner tour this January, and will host launch events at Book Culture and the Princeton Public Library this week. She will also appear on several panels at the Tucson Festival of Books in March. On publication day Tuesday, Karen was interviewed by author and fellow teen prodigy Christopher Paolini in a live Twitter chat moderated by Penguin Teen. In his cover blurb for the book, Paolini wrote, “Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I’ve read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent.”  
Nick Hornby’s highly anticipated Funny Girl went on sale to great buzz. A rave NPR review said,  “[Funny Girlinduces binge-reading that’s the literary equivalent of polishing off an entire television series in one weekend” and  The New York Times noted “this novel packs in lots of laughs, but it’s also got more heft than Mr. Hornby’s readers may expect.” People Magazine named Funny Girl “Book of the Week” and described it as “[A] light, fond, funny tale by the author of About a Boy…[a] fizzy delight about the likable oddballs who populate showbiz.” while Entertainment Weekly called the book “engaging” and “spot on.” Features have been running far and wide in the Boston Globe, Atlantic, Chicago Tribune Metro, and AM New York. Additionally, Funny Girl has been named one of the best books of February from USA Today, Amazon, PopSugar, StyleBistro, and Vulture. Nick kicked off a 7-city national tour this week with a packed house with over 300 people at Harvard Bookstore. He is in NYC this week and will make further stops in Toronto, Chicago, Seattle, Portland, San Francisco, and Pasadena.
The Girl On The Train continues to gather even more momentum, with an upcoming national TV hit on CBS This Morning on Monday, February 9. The Girl on the Train is topping charts nationwide, ranking #1 this week on the Los Angeles Times Bestseller List, Chicago Tribune Bestseller List, Chicagoland Bestseller List, Amazon’s Bestseller List, Kindle, Barnes & Noble Best Selling Nook Book, Publisher’s Weekly Hard Cover, Fiction, and the IndieBound.com Bestseller List. Author Paula Hawkins has been profiled in a New York Times feature and a Washington Post review, which called The Girl on the Train “well-written and ingeniously constructed — perhaps a bit too ingeniously.”  The Girl on the Train is popping up in “best of” and “must read” lists featured on exciting outlets online including Bustle.com’s amazing “12 Books to Read if You Liked The Girl on the Train,” The Huffington Post’s “Why Everyone’s Talking About The Girl on the Train,” and StyleCaster’s Editor’s Pick. Paula is in the middle of a 6-city tour this week, starting with ALA Midwinter Conference’s Debut Author Panel. She also held press events and book-store signings in Toronto and Houston, then stopped in NYC for interviews, signings, and the Mashable #MashReads Book Club event. She continues on to California, Nashville, and back to NYC before returning to London.