PEN New England has announced that Penguin Random House author Ottessa Moshfegh is the winner of the 2016 PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Fiction for her novel EILEEN (Penguin Press). Moshfegh will receive a $25,000 prize from the Hemingway family and the Hemingway Society as well as a one-week residency and $5,000 honorarium from the Distinguished Visiting Writers Series at the University of Idaho’s MFA Creative Writing Program. In addition, Moshfegh will receive a Residency Fellowship at the Ucross Foundation in Wyoming, a retreat for artists and writers.

Patrick Hemingway, the son of Ernest Hemingway, will present this award to Moshfegh on April 10 at a ceremony in Boston. Writer and critic James Wood will be the keynote speaker. This year’s judges were Alexandra Marshall, former PEN/Hemingway winner Joshua Ferris, and Penguin Random House author Jay Parini. In selecting Moshfegh as the 2016 winner, they praised her for her “prowess and her promise.”

Mary Hemingway founded the PEN/Hemingway award in 1976 to honor the legacy of her husband Ernest Hemingway. The PEN/Hemingway Award is given for a novel or book of short stories by an American author who has not previously published a full-length book of fiction.

Moshfegh joins notable PEN/Hemingway winners and nominees including Penguin Random House authors Jhumpa Lahiri, Colson Whitehead, ZZ Packer, George Saunders, Ha Jin, Junot Díaz, Yiyun Li, and Teju Cole.

Read more about EILEEN here.