Penguin Books author T.C. Boyle has won the Rea Award for the Short Story, founded by Michael M. Rea in 1986 and given annually to a living American or Canadian writer whose published work has made “a significant contribution to the discipline of the short story as an art form.”   Boyle’s honor was celebrated this week in The Washington Post.  Penguin Books has all of Boyle’s stories in print, gathered into two omnibuses – T.C. Boyle Stories(Penguin, 1999) and T.C. Boyle Stories II (Penguin, 2014). The Rea Award judges were Richard Bausch, Robert Olen Butler and Elizabeth Strout. They cited the “immense variety, hilarity, ambition and achieved talent” of Boyle’s stories, which “fairly glitter with imagination,” and called him “a genuine American original.”  Previous winners have included Alice Munro, John Updike, Lorrie Moore, Ann Beattie and Richard Ford.