PENGUINCLASSICS.COM The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Penguin Classics On Air

Although a revered author in Penguin Classics for some time, Elizabeth Gaskell is often lost in the shadow of her contemporaries Charlotte Brontë and George Eliot, who are held held up as the female literary icons of the Victorian era. But lately there's been a resurgence of interest in Gaskell's impressive body of work, which includes 65 short stories, 11 novels, and a notable biography, The Life of Charlotte Brontë, first published in 1857 and most recently by Penguin Classics in 1998. Consistent throughout Gaskell's work is her singular voice-shrewd, observant, and bitingly perceptive. She is equally witty, sentimental, and charming, her tone often signifying a comfortable intimacy with her reader. It is no wonder then that with this revival of her work comes the renewed appreciation of Gaskell as a Victorian writer of the highest rank

Check out some of Elizabeth Gaskell's other titles from Penguin Classics:

  • Sylvia's Lovers
  • Wives and Daughters
  • Gothic Tales
  • Mary Barton: A Tale of Manchester Life
  • Ruth
  • North and South
  • Cranford
  • Deerbrook

Elizabeth Gaskell
read more »

« back to essays