Avery is an imprint dedicated to nonfiction that ranges from the narrative to prescriptive, with a strong takeaway for the reader. Our categories include accessible science, health, psychology, wellness, and cookbooks from cutting-edge experts.

Avery was founded in 1976 and quickly established itself as the most successful independent publisher of health books in the market. Penguin Group (USA) acquired it as an imprint in 1999 with a strong commitment to continue publishing respected, up-to-the-minute books with a clear focus on helping people make the most of their lives. A longtime leader in the “food as medicine” movement, Avery’s leading backlist titles are some of the bestselling health books of all time, including Prescription for Nutritional Healing by Phyllis Balch, Prevent & Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn, M.D., and The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife, now in its 5th Edition.

Recent bestsellers include Atomic Habits by James Clear, The End of Alzheimer’s by Dale Bredesen, M.D., The Book of Joy by Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu and Douglas Carlton Abrams, The 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize Winner, NeuroTribes by Steve Silberman, The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon, The Wahls Protocol by Terry Wahls, M.D., Daring Greatly by Brené Brown, Ph.D., Fat Chance by  Robert Lustig, M.D., and The First 20 Minutes by Gretchen Reynolds.

Notable upcoming titles include Mastering Diabetes by Cyrus Khambatta, PhD and Robby Barbaro, MPH, Death Is But a Dream by Christopher Kerr, MD, PhD, with Carine Mardorossian, PhD, The XX Brain by Lisa Mosconi, PhD, Love is Served by Seizan Dreux Ellis and Café Gratitude, and The End of Food Allergy by Kari Nadeau, MD, PhD and Sloan Barnett.


Atomic Habits by James Clear

The End of Alzheimer’s by Dale Bredesen

The Book of Joy by Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu and Douglas Abrams

Oh She Glows Every Day by Angela Liddon

NeuroTribes by Steve Silberman

The Wild Diet by Abel James

Wine Folly by Madeline Puckette and Justin Hammack

The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon

The Wahls Protocol by Terry Wahls

Fat Chance by Robert H. Lustig

Daring Greatly by Brené Brown

The First 20 Minutes by Gretchen Reynolds

Award Winners

NeuroTribes by Steve Silberman

Cook for Your Life by Ann Ogden Gaffney

Triumph of the Heart by Megan Feldman Bettencourt

What Katie Ate by Kate Quinn Davies

The Vegucation of Robin by Robin Quivers

The Longevity Project by Howard S. Friedman

The Best Care Possible by Ira Byock

The Price of Silence by Liza Long

The Map Thief by Michael Blanding

Emotional Agility by Dr. Susan David

Notable New Releases

How The Other Half Learns by Robert Pondiscio

Seeking the South by Rob Newton

Widen the Window by Elizabeth A. Stanley, PhD

Living Bread by Daniel Leader and Lauren Chattman

A Liberated Mind by Steven C. Hayes, PhD

Meet Avery

Megan Newman

Vice President and Publisher

Megan Newman, Vice President and Publisher, joined Penguin in 2004 where her first acquisition was Prevent and Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn, M.D., a New York Times bestseller that’s gone on to be one of Avery’s biggest backlist books. Her other bestsellers include The Willpower Instinct by Kelly McGonigal, Ph.D.; Clark Howard’s Living Large in Lean Times; I Beat the Odds by Michael Oher; Wheelmen by Reed Albergotti and Vanessa O’Connell; and The Wahl’s Protocol by Terry Wahls, M.D. Prior to joining Avery, she was the Editorial Director of HarperResource where she published bestselling books by Nicholas Perricone, Wayne Dyer, Bobbi Brown, Lily Pulitzer, Dean Edell, M.D., Jorge Cruise, and more. She began her career at W.H. Freeman and Company working on science textbooks and trade books.

Lindsay Gordon

Associate Publisher, Director of Publicity & Marketing

Lindsay Gordon is the Associate Publisher and Director of Marketing & Publicity for both Avery Books and TarcherPerigee. She has over 16 years of experience promoting and publicizing non-fiction authors and their books. As Associate Publisher Lindsay oversees all of the customized publicity and marketing campaigns which are aimed towards securing as much media as possible and effectively getting the books in front of consumers in new and innovative ways. Lindsay has overseen and worked on the campaigns of numerous New York Times and national bestselling titles, including Atomic Habits by James Clear, The Book of Joy by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon, The XX Brain by Dr. Lisa Mosconi, I Beat the Odds by Michael Oher, Set Boundaries, Find Peace by Nedra Glover Tawwab, The Odd 1s Out by James Rallison and Unwinding Anxiety by Dr. Jud Brewer.  Prior to joining Penguin Lindsay worked at the Doubleday Broadway Publishing Group at Random House, Inc.

Caroline Sutton

Caroline Sutton

Editor in Chief

Cited as “the reigning queen of ‘Big Idea’ self-help” in New York Magazine, Caroline Sutton joined Penguin Group (USA) in 2009 as editor in chief of Hudson Street Press. A graduate of Harvard University, she has worked at many imprints including Random House, Ballantine, Touchstone, and Collins. Her bestselling titles include Fat Chance by Robert Lustig, M.D., The First 20 Minutes by Gretchen Reynolds, The Emotional Life of Your Brain by Richard J. Davidson, Ph.D. with Sharon Begley, Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain by Sharon Begley, and Mindset by Carol Dweck, Ph.D.  Other authors past and present include Deborah Tannen, Andrew Weil, Dean Ornish, Daniel Goleman, Tara Parker-Pope, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, and His Holiness the Dalai Lama.

Meet More
Lucia Watson

Lucia Watson

Executive Editor

Lucia Watson, Executive Editor, began her publishing career as an editorial assistant at Viking in 1999. She joined Avery in 2005. Lucia acquires a diverse list of books in categories including health, psychology, science, parenting, memoir, food narrative, cooking, and lifestyle. Her recent titles include New York Times bestsellers The Oh She Glows Cookbook by Angela Liddon, Prevent & Reverse Heart Disease by Caldwell Esselstyn, M.D., and Marbles by Ellen Forney. She is also the editor of Gutbliss by Robynne Chutkan, M.D., Canyon Ranch: Nourish by Scott Uehlein, and the James Beard Award-winning What Katie Ate by Katie Quinn Davies.

Nina Shield

Executive Editor

Executive Editor Nina Shield joined TarcherPerigee and Avery in 2017 with a focus on prescriptive non-fiction. For TarcherPerigee, she is particularly interested in inspirational, self-improvement/personal growth, creativity, spirituality, wellness, and workbooks/journals. On the Avery side: mental health, functional medicine, parenting, and selective cookbooks/nutrition. Authors she has worked with include James Clear (New York Times bestseller Atomic Habits), Bishop Michael Curry (Love is the Way), Jordan Reid and Erin Williams (The Big Activity Book for Anxious People), Kelly McGonigal (The Joy of Movement), Talia Pollock (Party in Your Plants), and Kristy Shen (Quit Like a Millionaire).